We have noticed you are using an older version of Internet Explorer. To ensure complete functionality please upgrade your version of Internet Explorer.

Learn2Serve Update IE Button
Learn2Serve Header Close
Alcohol-Seller-Certification
Oregon

Oregon Alcohol Seller/Server

The fastest way to get training for your OLCC service permit. Course meets all Oregon OLCC Alcohol Server Education requirements. Perfect for Bartenders, Servers, and Food Service Managers.

Our course delivers the education you need to get certified with the Oregon Liquor Control Commission. As an early pioneer of web-based alcohol certification training, our programs have been used in Oregon and nationwide to train , thousands of employees. We’ve helped shaped the online alcohol safety training industry and continue to lead the way with approved courses that allow students to train online on their own schedule.

Enrollment Fee Includes:

  • Aceess to the online course and exam
  • Unlimited 24×7 toll free phone support
  • Official, printable certificate of completion

Why Choose Learn2Serve?

  • Legal. Get legal to serve alcohol and make money fast.
  • Easy access. Online course and test is easy to access from anywhere.
  • Approved. This course was approved by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission.
  • FIVE YEARS. Your OLCC Permit will be Valid for 5 years throughout the State of Oregon.
  • Recognized. Major employers, insurance firms, and enforcement agencies look for this certification.
  • Trusted. Over 500,000 sellers and servers in the industry trust Learn2Serve. 500,000 can’t be wrong.
  • Live 24×7 Help. Whether you’re a night owl or a day lark, you get live customer service and student support 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
  • Interactive. Learning materials and instructions are not just fully available online, they’re fully interactive. That’s one FUN, fast way to learn!

Read More

SORT:
VIEW:

Bundles

Individual Courses

Course Name
Credit Type
Course Delivery
Credit Hours
Price
QTY

* Indicates course duration. This course is not for credit hours.

Free Courses

Course Name
Credit Type
Course Delivery
Credit Hours
Price
QTY

* Indicates course duration. This course is not for credit hours.

Responsible alcohol serving starts with the OLCC service permit.

  • Select your course and click Enroll button.
  • Complete the course and take the test.

OLCC License History

In 1985, following initiatives by the state’s restaurant association, Oregon legislated that all owners and employees of licensed businesses that serve alcohol for on-premise consumption must undergo mandatory server education. Oregon was the first state in the country to require alcohol safety training. The current law requires alcohol servers take and pass a course in responsible alcohol service every 5 years.

Following the tradition set by the State of Oregon when it pioneered mandatory training for all alcohol servers, learn2Serve.com’s online Alcohol Server Education provides the instruction that alcohol servers need to obtain their Oregon alcohol service permit.

OLCC Alcohol Service Permit Facts

Server education ensures that anyone serving alcohol does so safely and responsibly. Oregon server education covers 4 major areas:

  • Oregon alcohol sale and service laws, including drunk-driving statutes
  • Alcohol’s effects on the body and behavior, and alcohol interaction with other substances, including drugs
  • Intervention methods for dealing with intoxicated or underage customers
  • Responsible advertising, marketing, and management procedures

At the end of the course, there is a 50-question multiple-choice exam. The passing mark is 70%. Although, most students pass the exam the first time around, those who fail are allowed to retake it twice before they are required to re-register and take the course again.

After completing the course you have 45 days to apply for your OLCC service permit. To obtain a permit, attach your Certificate of Completion to the permit application
( http://www.oregon.gov/OLCC/service_permits.shtml#Application_And_Instructions).

For details regarding the OLCC permitting process visit the OLCC website.

Obtaining Your OLCC Alcohol Server’s Permit

The State of Oregon seems quiet and isolated from American media, except for the occasional pop culture references to its independent music scene and political climate. But Oregon is, in fact, making some buzz in another area—its liquor industry. Oregon takes pride in its craft beer distillery industry, which generates about $53 million in sales annually and influences a healthy beer-drinking and mixology culture in the state. How does the state keep everyone in good spirits?

The Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) is the government body that regulates the alcoholic beverage sales and service in the state of Oregon. The OLCC has been established back in the 1930s to uphold the highest standards for alcohol sales. In line with its mission, the OLCC requires all alcohol sellers, servers, and merchants to acquire an OLCC permit or OLCC card which will allow them to perform activities relating to the sales and service of alcoholic beverages legally.

Learn2Serve offers individual courses to satisfy your employer’s and the state of Oregon’s requirements for alcohol seller and server training. Learn2Serve’s Oregon On-Premises alcohol server/seller training provides workers (e.g. bartenders, staff, bar owners and managers and mixologists) with the necessary knowledge and skills in selling and serving alcohol responsibly, in complying with state rules and regulations, and in ensuring the safety of customers and the general public.

The Oregon liquor license validity extends up to only five years from the date of alcohol server training. This applies to all persons who’ve obtained their permit after January 1, 2010. Only individuals who have taken an alcohol server education class within the past 7 years are eligible to renew their permit and take a renewal class. You can determine your eligibility by directly consulting with the OLCC. Call the OLCC’s hotline 503-872-5114 or 800-452-6522 ext. 5114 before signing up for a renewal class.

Be part of Oregon’s lively liquor scene. Get in touch with our Customer Service representatives to know more about our course offerings.

State Requirements

Who is required to have an Alcohol Service Permit in the state of Oregon?

Alcohol Service Permit is required for those who mix, serve, or sell alcohol i.e.
 • wait staff
 • bartenders
 • managers
 • owners who mix, serve, or sell alcohol, or manages servers at that business and whose names are not individually listed on the liquor license

This is issued by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission.

For how long is an Alcohol Service Permit valid?

Effective January 2, 2010, an Alcohol Service Permit is valid for 5 (five) years after one has taken the Alcohol Server course and passed the exam.

How does the Alcohol Service Permit requirement for servers and
establishments benefit the public?

Alcohol server training contributes to the public’s health and safety in the following ways:
 • reduction in the number of apprehended drunk drivers
 • reduction in alcohol abuse cases
 • reduction of illegal alcohol sales to minors
 • promotion of responsible consumption
 • education of servers on how they can be protected from third-party liability lawsuits
 • education of licensees and servers with regard to Oregon liquor laws

What areas need to be covered by any alcohol server training class in Oregon?

• The effects of alcohol on the body and behavior, including the interaction of alcohol with other drugs
• Oregon’s alcohol sale and service laws, including drunk driving laws
• Intervention techniques for dealing with intoxicated and underage customers
• Responsible advertising, marketing, and management procedures

What is the passing grade for the multiple choice exam that an alcohol
server training student has to take at the end of the class?

Students must have a score of 70% of higher to pass. More than 98% of students pass the test the first time they take it.

If I fail the exam, can I retake?

Students who take the training and fail the first time may retake the exam two more times. If they fail the 2nd retake, they need to retake the alcohol server training class.

How do I renew my Oregon alcohol server license?

Alcohol servers need to retake an alcohol server training class every 5 (five) years and pass the exam (70% or higher). You can do these two ways:
 a. Retake the original course
 b. Take a short Renewal Course if you qualify

Who can take a Renewal Course?

Anyone who has passed a server education class within the past 7 (seven) years can opt to take a renewal course – regardless of whether your permit has expired or you’ve been out of the industry for a few years. If you passed your initial class within 7 (seven) years, you qualify. If it has been more than seven years (i.e. 7 years and one day) since you passed your last alcohol server education class, you don’t qualify.

Who can take a Renewal Course?

Anyone who has passed a server education class within the past 7 (seven) years can opt to take a renewal course – regardless of whether your permit has expired or you’ve been out of the industry for a few years. If you passed your initial class within 7 (seven) years, you qualify. If it has been more than seven years (i.e. 7 years and one day) since you passed your last alcohol server education class, you don’t qualify.

Please visit the Oregon Liquor Control Commission website for more information.